Stillwater Armory
Guns, Gear, & Training

Oklahoma Concealed Carry Course
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the actual process of obtaining a concealed carry permit?
    The first step is to take a class by a certified instructor like the one we offer.  Upon successful completion of the class, you will need to fill out an application provided by the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation which can be downloaded from the OSBI website.  You will also need to obtain 2 passport photos that you can have taken at most Walgreens, Kinkos, etc.
    Take your original class completion certificate, completed OSBI application, and passport photos to your local sheriffs office.  There, you will have two sets of fingerprints taken and your application packet will be reviewed.  You will need to have a certified check or money order made payable to OSBI for $100 and another certified check or money order made payable to your sheriffs office for $25.
    That's the end of your involvement.  The sheriffs office will then process your application packet.

How long does it take to get my permit?
    Provided there is nothing in your background check that would preclude you from obtaining your permit, it usually takes between 45 and 90 days to get your permit.  You will receive a letter in the mail informing you of qualification and will be instructed to go to your local sheriffs office to pick up your permit.

What is the total cost of obtaining a concealed carry permit?
    You should expect to pay approximately $200 in fees to obtain a permit.
    $60 - Class Fees
    $100 - OSBI Processing Fees
    $25 - Sheriff's Office
    $15 - Cost of Passport Photos

What happens during the class?
    The course consists of approximately 6 hours of classroom time and 2 hours of range time.  In the classroom we will cover laws that pertain to concealed carry and self-defense, safe handling of a firearm and shooting fundamentals.  We work very hard to keep the class informative and educational by mixing in real-world examples and scenarios and having all the students participate in the class.  The class is designed to be a discussion led by your instructor and not a lecture.  By using the instructor's extensive concealed carry experience, you will be given thought provoking scenarios as well as tips and techniques on the practical application of concealed carry.
    The shooting portion of the class is a 50 round familiarization course that gives students an opportunity to practice the fundamentals they have learned.

Where is the class held?
    
The majority of our classes are held in Stillwater, OK.  We have a dedicated classroom facility and a private firing range just a couple of minutes southwest of Stillwater.  Directions to the classroom will be provided in your information pack upon enrollment in a class.

What is the cost of the class and how do I pay?
    The cost of the class is $60.  You may pay the class fee by credit card, PayPal, or with a check or cash at our facility or by mail.  We require the class fees be paid prior to the class date to reserve your position in the class.

How do I pay with a credit card?
    After submitting your application, you will be taken to a page where you will have the opportunity to enter a secure payment site to utilize your credit card or you can go directly to the credit card payment page by clicking "Pay Class Fees".

What is PayPal and how do I pay using PayPal?
    PayPal is an internet based, secure payment service often associated with E-Bay items.  If you clicked the "Pay with PayPal" button on your application, you will receive an invoice from tom.smith@oklahomaconcealedcarry.com for the cost of the class through your e-mail.  Follow the instructions in the e-mail to complete your payment.

Can't I just write a check?
    Absolutely...we also take cash!  If you would prefer to pay with a check, please make the check payable to Stillwater Armory and mail the check or payment to:
        Stillwater Armory
        3930 W 6th Ave
        Stillwater, OK  74074

I've heard you have to pass an exam in the class.  What's the test about?
    There is a 15 question multiple choice exam as part of the certification process.  The exam covers firearm safety and all the material is covered in the class prior to the exam.  If you pay attention during the class and apply some common sense, you will pass the written test.

What's the shooting component of the class like?
    
The shooting component of the class consists of three parts.  First is the dry fire practice where you will have the opportunity to practice the fundamentals learned in the classroom.  Second is a practice session where you will shoot live ammunition at 3 yards and 5 yards into a silhouette target.  The final session is the familiarization course and differs from the practice session in that the stage is timed.  You will have 10 seconds to fire 5 rounds from the 3 yard line and 15 seconds to fire 5 rounds from the 5 yard line.  There is no minimum score required in order to complete the live fire course.  You must demonstrate the ability to operate the handgun in a safe manner.  A total of 50 rounds will be fired.

How long is the class?
    The class is a total of 8 hours and generally held from 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM.  This includes approximately 6 hours of classroom time and 2 hours of range time.  You need to arrive 15 minutes prior to the class start time.

I've never fired a gun before.  Can I still take the class?
    
Absolutely.  A good portion of the class is devoted to shooting fundamentals and the operation of a handgun.  You will leave the class knowing the basics of shooting.  One of our most valuable assets is our instructors on the firing range.  If you request extra assistance, we will have an instructor stand right beside you during the shooting providing assistance, encouragement, and confidence.

What handgun should I use for the class?
    
It is recommended you qualify with a semi-automatic no larger than .45 caliber.  By qualifying with a semi-auto, you will be certified to carry a semi-auto and revolver.  If you qualify with a revolver, you can not legally carry a semi-auto.  You do not have to qualify with the same handgun you plan on carrying.  However, you are more than welcome to qualify with a revolver or even a derringer if that is your desire.

I don't have a gun.  How can I take the class?
    Not a problem.  We rent .22 caliber semi-auto handguns for $20.  The ammunition is provided by us.  Just check the "Rental Required" button on your application and we will make sure you have one available.

How do I contact you?
    You can click the "Contact Us" button above or send an e-mail directly to tom.smith@oklahomaconcealedcarry.com.  You may also reach us by phone at 405-533-3930.

I've already taken the class, can I just sit it on the class with a friend?
     Generally speaking, no. Our classes are generally full and we don't have the room for people to audit the class.  As with everything, there are exceptions.  If you have some special needs, please contact us and we will try to accommodate you.

What do I do if I lose my certificate of completion?
    In order to replace your certificate that was lost or if you need to resubmit your certificate to OSBI, please complete the Lost Certificate Form.  Cost of replacement certifcate is $10.

What is your refund policy if I can't attend a class I've already paid for?
    At least 4 weeks prior to the class date:  You may cancel your class application and will be refunded the full fee minus any credit card or PayPal processing fees (about $5).  You may also change your class date to any other open class at no charge.
    Between 2 and 4 weeks prior to the class date:  You may cancel your class application and receive a $40 refund.  You may also change your class date to any other open class at no charge.
    Less than 2 weeks prior to the class date:  No refunds will be given.  You may change your class date for a fee of $20.
    Within 72 hours of class date:  No refunds or transfers of dates accepted.
    After the class date:  No refunds will be given and no date changes allowed.
    Please note: You may only change your class date twice under the above guidelines before forfeiting your class fees.
Website Builder