This course meets all training requirements in accordance with Title 21 Section 1290.1 et seg known as the "Oklahoma Self Defense Act". This course will be held in Stillwater, OK. Group classes can be scheduled anywhere within the state of Oklahoma.
Why choose Stillwater Armory for your training? Because of that word - training. You see, all instructors are required to use the state of Oklahoma approved curriculum, we are certainly no different. We take the required information and put it into instruction and language you can understand. We utilize experiences, scenarios, and "what-if" building exercises to allow our students to not just hear the law read from an instructor's book but to actually experience what the rules and regulations are all about.
We go beyond the required material and give our students a head start in concealed carry by going over additional subjects such as how to carry your concealed weapon effectively, the multitude of options available in holsters and other carry gear; handgun, caliber, ammunition selection and more. You will have the opportunity for hands on knowledge that require most people years of trial and error to receive. Our instructors truly care about the students and want you to leave the class with confidence, knowledge, and new abilities. Upon completion, there's a good chance you will know more than many people who have been carrying for years.
In short, you will receive training.
The curriculum for this course was prepared by the State of Oklahoma and cannot be altered. However, using our proven training techniques of total participant involvement, we are able to make this class both educational and enjoyable. There are absolutely no prerequisites for this course. Even if you have never fired a handgun before, we will give you the necessary instruction to safely complete the live fire portion of this course. Don't own or have access to a handgun? No problem, we have handguns available for rental and include the ammunition.
To be eligible to apply for a permit you must:
- Be a resident of Oklahoma
- Be at least 21 years of age (Note, you may take the course at age 18. You have three years after completion to make your application for the permit)
- Meet background requirements as set forth by Oklahoma law
- Complete an approved safety training course, such as this one, offered by a certified instructor
- Submit your application packet along with proper fees to your local county sheriff
Fees for obtaining the Oklahoma Concealed Carry Permit are as follows:
- $60.00 Cost of Training Course (Paid to Stillwater Armory Upon Class Registration)
- $100.00 OSBI Licensing Fee (Paid to OSBI)
- ~$10.00 Cost of Passport Photos (Walgreens, Kinkos, Wal-Mart, etc)
- $25.00 Cost of Fingerprinting at Sheriff's Office (Paid to Your County Sheriff)
- General Firearm Safety
- Fundamentals of Handgun Shooting
- Correct Position for Firing a Handgun
- Correct Presentation for the Handgun
- Loading and Unloading Techniques
- Clearing Malfunctions
- Dynamics of Ammunition and Firing a Handgun
- Provisions of Oklahoma Laws Relating to Self-Defense
- Provisions of Oklahoma Self Defense Act
- A Dry-Fire Practice Session
- Live Fire Familiarization Course
- Your Pistol. Bring your unloaded pistol with action or cylinder open onto the range for safety inspection upon arrival at the range. You will not be allowed on the live fire range with a pistol deemed unsafe by the instructor. This does not applying if you are renting a pistol from us. Do not bring firearm into the classroom.
- 50 Rounds of New Factory Loaded Ammunition. No reloads or handloads will be permitted. Ammunition will be provided for all rented pistols.
- Do NOT bring ammunition into the classroom
- Hearing and Eye Protection
- A Brimmed Baseball Style Cap
- Valid Oklahoma I.D.
- Pen/Pencil and notepad
- Oklahoma Self Defense Act Booklet (May be downloaded from OSBI website)
- Classes will begin promptly at 9:00 AM. Location for the class will be outlined in your registration packet although classes are generally held in Stillwater or Beaver, OK.
- For Information on our half day Concealed Carry Class, please click here.
- Please arrive 15 minutes early to allow for completion of enrollment and allow for a prompt start time
- We will take periodic breaks throughout the class.
- A lunch break will be provided at approximately 12:00. You may bring a sack lunch or make arrangements to have food delivered. While you are more than welcome to leave the classroom facility, please understand training will continue promptly at the set time following the lunch break. In our classroom location, a refrigerator and microwave is available for your convenience.
- The classroom portion will be completed by approximately 3:00 PM. We will then move to the live fire range. The live fire course will be held at a private outdoor range with no facilities located on the same premises as the classroom.
- Expect the class to be completed by 6:00 PM.
- Total class time is 8 hours.
- Make sure you have plenty of time to reach the class. Tardiness will result in canceling your class time.
- The instructor may remove anyone from the class at any time.
- Your firearm must be safe and in good operating condition. All firearms will be inspected. If a firearm is deemed unsafe, you will not be allowed to qualify with that firearm.
- Maximum caliber allowed is .45. Minimum caliber is .22. If you qualify with a semi-auto, you will receive endorsement to carry semi-auto, revolver, and derringer. If you qualify with a revolver, you will not be able to carry a semi-auto. If you qualify with a derringer, you will only be allowed to carry a derringer.
- It is highly recommended you qualify with a semi-auto to prevent having to requalify at a later date should you desire to carry a semi-auto. If you do not have a semi-auto pistol, rentals are available for $20, including ammunition.
- Students must score 70% (11 of 15) on the written exam. If you fail, you will not be allowed to advance to the range portion of the class.
- Dress appropriate for weather conditions as the live fire course will be held outside. The only time weather would cancel the range portion of the class is if the instructor deems it unsafe such as during severe lightning or storms.
- Pistol rental is available. Contact us at least 7 days prior to the class to make a reservation.
- NRA Certified Instructor
- Certified Range Safety Officer
- CLEET (Council on Law Enforcement Education and Training) Certified Instructor
- OSBI (Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation) Approved and Registered Instructor
- For more information on our instructors, please click here.
Please click here to go to our application page and apply for this class.